User Roles

Every user is assigned a user role, which is defined by:

  • A name
  • A description
  • A set of permissions

Permissions

Every user role has a set of permissions, which define the level of access any user with the user role has to specific areas of Crossbeam. Access ranges from "No access" to "View only" to "Manage", depending on the resource.

Managing User Roles and Permissions

To manage the roles available to assign to users, click "Manage Roles" next to "Invite People".

You will be taken to a new page that lists your user roles.

Default Roles

Admin

This is a system role and is not modifiable. Admins have the highest level of access to every area of Crossbeam.

There must always be at least ONE admin per organization. If you are the only admin in an organization, you must make someone else an admin before assigning yourself a different role.

Partner Manager

This is a default template role. We selected a set of permissions that are appropriate for how partner managers use Crossbeam.

You can modify the permissions or delete this role.

View Only

This is a default template role. We selected a set of permissions that are appropriate for anyone you'd like to invite in as a view-only consumer of Crossbeam data.

You can modify the permissions or delete this role.

Editing a User Role

You can edit a role by clicking on it.

You can modify the:

  • Role name
  • Role description
  • Role permissions

Creating a new User Role

To create a new user role, click Add Role on the Role page.

To create a new role, you need to set:

  • Role name
  • Role description
  • Role permissions

By default, all permissions are set at their lowest level of access.

Deleting a User Role

When you delete a user role, you will be asked to migrate any users assigned to that role to a different role. Even if you have no users assigned to the role, we'll ask for a replacement role in the case of pending user invitations using that role.

Managing a User's Role

Viewing a User's Role

It all starts on the Team page. On the team page, you can see which users are assigned to which roles:

Changing a User's Role

Click on the ... next to a user and then click Change Role to change their user user role.

You will see a modal with all of your user roles available to select. Select the role you want to change them to, and hit "Set role".

What is the Crossbeam experience for view only users?

The Crossbeam Interface

Any buttons that are not applicable for View only users will be hidden. They will know they are in a View only version of a page because there will be a "View only" indicator at the top.

For Threads, participate-only users will have access to participations features, and will see a "Participate only" indicator.

Notifications

Users that don't have manage access to a specific Crossbeam resource will no longer receive notifications about that resource.

For example, users with a role that has view only access to sharing will not receive notifications when a new sharing rule is created with them.

Another example, users with a role that have view only access to data sources will not receive notifications for any errors with the data source.

Did this answer your question?